The Importance Of Sleep

Through the years I have come to realize the importance of rest and how I perform in the gym. Too little sleep and not only do I suffer through the entire day, but my workouts are lack luster at best.

When situations occur that I am not able to get the ‘required’ amount of sleep I find it is better for me just to do cardio. What I mean by ‘required’ is the amount of sleep I k ow my body needs to recover and continue mission for the day.

Typically, I need 6.5 to 8.5 hours of sleep a night. This number will be unique to you so don’t get wrapped around the axle about how much you do or don’t need. Always listen to your body.


My suggestion to you however is if you didn’t sleep well the night prior to your workout and you are feeling run down. Don’t take the day off from the gym, just make it a low intensity cardio day. Something easy like walking on the treadmill or outside for your allotted amount of time.

If the opportunity arises you can postpone the gym and take a nap. Once you feel refreshed then go in and crush the gym. However, if you are a busy person like myself then just make it a cardio day.

I’m speaking for the general health enthusiast, and not the professional athlete or bodybuilder. Taking the day off from lifting and doing cardio won’t hurt your ability to make gains.

The caveat is don’t make not sleeping a regular habit as it will slow not only your gains but your recovery from the workouts you do. Sleep is vital to making progress in the gym. Some people are maniacs and can go with minimal sleep and still perform I am definitely not one of those people.

I hope this has been helpful for you. As always Train hard and Stay motivated.

Chris

Leave a comment